Meal Prep Monday with Honey Pecan Salmon Recipe- 1.18.16

Happy MLK Jr. Day readers! Today I got to run a ton of errands, workout, etc. but it put me slightly behind on my blogging so this will be a little later than usual.

This week I tried some new things, particularly a recipe from the “Fixate” cookbook. The “Fixate” book is all 21 Day Fix approved recipes and most are pretty delicious! I’m also bringing back an old favorite- honey pecan salmon. Yuuummm!

I also started the 21 Day Fix workout program and meal plan this week–I’m excited to try the program I’ve seen people lose up to 17 pounds on in just three weeks! It’s an awesome circuit training system with 30 minute workouts, simple nutrition and color-coded portion control containers. Learn more here: http://teambeachbody.com/shop/-/shopping/BCP21D160?referringRepId=850546

So let’s get on with it…here is what I’m eating this week.

meal prep 1.18 edamame

The first row starts off with some Shakeology and moves into the Fixate Edamame Salad with Asian Dressing (also from the “Fixate” book).Β  The salad has edamame, napa cabbage, carrots, red pepper, cilantro, avocado and black sesame seeds in it. Topped off with the dressing, it’s a pretty fantastic meal and 21 Day Fix approved!

meal prep 1.18 second row soup and falafel

Moving on, the second row features an organic broccoli cheese soup, a small portion of honey pecan salmon, falafel I got at Trader Joes (we will see how they taste!) and raspberries. This row also begins and ends with Shakeology as I drink it daily to get all my vitamins and nutrients in.

final two rows meal prep 1.18

The third row begins with a halved grapefruit, roasted root veggies (parsnips, carrots, sweet potato and red potato in olive oil with garlic and pepper), a Sandwich Thin and Laughing Cow cheese wedge to go with the smoked salmon, fruit and Shakeology.

And the last row is Shakeology, fruit, veggies with hummus, celery with Laughing Cow Cheese and more materials for the salmon sandwich.

Here are two side views of the Shakeology I plan to drink. I have chocolate (my fav), Greenberry (second fav!), vanilla, vegan chocolate and strawberry. I like to have the packets for the variety. It gives me a natural boost of energy, helps my hair, skin and nails and just makes me feel healthier. Plus it helps me lose weight when I replace a meal with it.

 

Now onto the recipe this week. Honey Pecan Salmon was something my husband and I made for a special meal in a few years back. It is simple, tasty and not too bad for you–really the least healthy thing is bread crumbs!

honey pecan salmon ingredients.jpg

So to start you will need:

  • 1/2 pound salmon
  • 1 TBS Dijon or honey mustard
  • 1.5 TBS butter, melted
  • 1.5 TBS honey
  • 4 TBS bread crumbs
  • 4 TBS crushed pecans
  • 2 TBS parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

honey pecan salmon dressing

In a small bowl, mix mustard, butter and honey

honey pecan salmond breading

In another bowl, mix bread crumbs, parsley and pecans

Season each salmon fillet with salt and pepper

dressed honey pecan salmon

Brush the mustard-honey mixture on one side of salmon. Then cover with bread crumbs. Place face-down on a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet. Add the mustard-honey mixture on the other side of the salmon and top with remaining bread crumbs.

ready to bake honey pecan salmon

Bake for 10-12 minutes per inch of thickest part of fillet or until it flakes.

finished honey pecan salmon

Pair with some healthy sides, maybe some wine and enjoy!

**Interested in daily motivation, health tips and recipes? Connect with me at http://www.facebook.com/MotivationandMuscle. Message me to be added to a free, 5-day healthy eating challenge group where you will learn how to meal plan and prep like a pro! :)**

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

