Lazy Cherry Tomato Salsa

I made this tonight for freezing instead of canning. Added two jalapenos and a little more garlic. Great way to keep high-sodium salsa products out of your home and use up cherry tomatoes.

grow it cook it can it

We’ve been harvesting a lot of cherry tomatoes recently.

Normally, cherry tomatoes are mostly for fresh eating since it would be crazy to peel them for sauce or other canning projects…

…but since I hate peeling pretty much everything (carrots, peaches, potatoes, etc.), I stopped peeling my tomatoes long ago.  I just zap them with my immersion blender for sauce, ketchup, jam, and salsa.  If I peeled my tomatoes, there’s no way I’d have a two whole shelves in the pantry filled with tomato products.  There’s just no way, not enough hours in the day.

This means I can take advantage of that delicious, superpowered cherry tomato flavor for all my canning projects — it doesn’t just have to be a summer treat.

This salsa is my way of turning a bajillion cherry tomatoes into something wonderful.  I’m sure we’ll have it with tortilla chips and in burritos, but what…

View original post 285 more words

Leave a Reply

